History of BCNSC

In 1948 a small group of enthusiastic birders began to get together for regular meetings to share reports on local birds. At first, they met in private homes and kept records on wild birds in the area. As other friends joined the group, the birding accounts increased and the territory was enlarged to include all of Burlington County.

The birding group was formally organized in the autumn of 1950 as more people showed an increased interest. Meetings were held in Fenwick Hall on the grounds of Pemberton Episcopal Church. Officers were elected and membership varied between 120 and 150. Yearly dues were set at $2.00 for adults and .50 for juniors. Guests were always welcome and birding information was a highlight of each meeting. A speaker from out of town or a club member would give a lecture with slide presentation on subjects related to birding, travel and/or various environmental issues.

The Pemberton Bird Club changed its name to Burlington County Natural Sciences Club in 1971; it was believed the club was broadening its interests to include all natural subjects encountered while birding. Members requested we find a more central location to hold meetings, as the long trip across county roads was difficult, especially in winter. In 1977 it was a pleasant change for us when the V. F. Evans School in Marlton gave us the privilege of utilizing their large all-purpose room for our monthly meetings. Several years ago we re-centralized again, moving to Oaks Hall in Medford Lakes. In 2001 we moved to the Medford Township Safety Building, and a few years later to the Community Center at Medford Leas at Lumberton.

The public is welcome to attend our meetings: all who attend will realize that the Club is actually a group of friendly people who enjoy sharing their interests.

Eastern Tiger Swallowtail, photo by Joe Costanza

Eastern Tiger Swallowtail,
photo by Joe Costanza


  • President: Michael Keating
  • Treasurer: Ilene Schneider
  • Program Chair: Steve Mattan
  • Webmaster: Ann Campbell

Directors (term expires)

  • Ethel Cebra (2017)
  • Joe Costanza (2017)
  • Sam Moyer (2018)
  • Jeanne Woodford (2018)